Skip to content

Roybal Campus Update

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) is currently reviewing all comments submitted by the April 10, 2014, deadline. The CDC will then determine if the DEIS analysis is complete and possibly conduct further analyses, and commenters will receive replies, according to George Chandler, Senior Advisor, Office of Safety, Security & Asset Management for the CDC. The CDC also is developing a range of mitigation measures based on both the DEIS analysis and comments received.  Once these tasks are complete, the CDC will prepare a Final Environmental Impact Statement (FEIS) that will be made available to all interested parties for review and comment. The FEIS will contain any additional analysis as well as all comments received on the DEIS and CDC’s responses.

The FEIS will be ready in early summer 2014. Once the FEIS public review is complete, the CDC will issue its final Master Plan selected alternative and explain why that alternative was selected, other alternatives considered, significant impacts of the alternatives, and mitigation measures relevant to the selected alternative that the CDC can commit to over the 10-year master plan implementation period in a public document called a Record of Decision (ROD).

The Time is Ripe for Tomatoes

For garden enthusiasts, spring can’t come soon enough. Many gardeners have already started their tomato seedlings indoors for early fruit bearing. Other gardeners will depend upon the larger plants sold at nurseries and plant centers. Whatever you choose, here are some pointers for selecting tomatoes for the Druid Hills garden.

1. Choose hybrid, heirloom or both! A hybrid tomato is a cross between two genetically different parents.  The hope is to get the best attributes from both parents. Heirloom tomatoes have been produced for generations and are not mixes of two different parents. Hybrids are usually more disease resistant and less tasty; heirlooms are more susceptible to seeds but taste better than most hybrids.

Good Hybrids:Better Boy, Big Boy, Summer Girl, Early Girl, Steakhouse, Beefsteak, Beef Maestro, and Fourth of July. They will have the word “hybrid” written on the plant tag.

Good Heirlooms:Abe Lincoln, Rutgers, Amish Paste, Aunt Ruby’s German Green, Mortgage Lifter, Cherokee Purple,  Box Car Willie, and Red Zebra. They will usually have the word “heirloom” on the plant tag. Read more

Notice of Rescheduled Public Hearing and Extended Comment Period: Draft Environmental Impact Statement for the Roybal Campus 2025 Master Plan

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), within the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), has prepared and filed with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency the Roybal Campus 2025 Master Plan Draft Environmental Impact Statement (DEIS). The DEIS analyzes the potential impacts associated with the implementation of the 2015-2025 Master Plan (Master Plan) for HHS/CDC’s Edward R. Roybal Campus (Roybal Campus) located at 1600 Clifton Road N.E. in Atlanta, Georgia. The HHS/CDC announces the rescheduling of the public meeting to obtain public comment on the Roybal Campus 2025 Master Plan DEIS and the extension of the public comment period. The original public meeting was previously scheduled for Wednesday, January 29, 2014. The public meeting has been rescheduled for Thursday, March 20, 2014. HHS/CDC is further extending the public comment period to Thursday, April 10, 2014. Read more

Fernbank Forever

Revised Site Plan

Revised Site Plan

Over the years, Druid Hills has seen its share of issues that divided the community with little hope for consensus. Therefore it is always a delight and a relief to witness a resolution that pleases all sides. That certainly was the case on February 19, when a crowd of about 125 attended a meeting where the DeKalb County School District presented a revised site plan for the new Fernbank School.

The new plan responded to the concerns of a group of neighbors who had proposed re-siting the building and objected strenuously to plans calling for an above-ground retention pond.  Read more

Dust of Snow

Many of us wandered through the ice-covered neighborhood on Thursday morning after the snowstorm, before the sun emerged. The accompanying photographs by Springdale Road resident Amy Chen depict her journey to the Linear Park with her dog, Champ. Read more


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 644 other followers